CLOSE

Dialog Box

Loading...

         

Patient Support Groups

 

The Unicorn Foundation has established patient support groups across Australia, as well as an active Facebook Private Discussion Group and linkages to Cancer Council Telephone Support Groups

Being diagnosed with cancer can be a scary and confronting experience. Being diagnosed with Neuroendocrine or Carcinoid cancer is even more confusing and daunting due to the lack of information and resources readily available. Therefore one of the main aims of the Unicorn Foundation is to provide support to patients by bringing them together in a relaxed yet informative environment.

Find a Support Group 

Click on the relevant state on the map of Australia to locate your closest support group. If you are interested in joining our Facebook group, or would like to assist in organizing or facilitating a patient support group, then please contact us at netnurse@unicornfoundation.org.au.

Click here to find out more about Telephone Support Groups for those with Advanced Cancer and for Carers.

New South Wales and ACT

North Shore Private Hospital 

Location
North Shore Private Hospital
Ground Floor Conference Room
Westbourne Street
St Leonards

Contact
NET Nurse
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times - 2020  
Wednesday 5th February, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 8th April, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 10th June, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 12th August, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 14th October, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 2nd December, 5pm - 7pm

Sydney Adventist Hospital (SAN)

 

Location
Cancer Support Centre
Jacaranda Lodge
SAN -185 Fox Valley Rd, Wahroonga NSW 2076

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Thursday 16th January, 1.30pm - 3.00pm
Thursday 19th March, 1.30pm - 3.00pm - Assoc Prof Gavin Marx
Thursday 21st May, 1.30pm - 3.00pm
Thursday 23rd July, 1.30pm - 3.00pm
Thursday 17th September, 1.30 - 3.00pm
Thursday 19th November, 1.30 - 3.00pm

St George Hospital

Location
St George Hospital
Ground Floor
Research and Education Centre
South Street
Kogarah
(just beside the car park)

Contact
NET Nurse 
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times - 2020
Thursday 6th February, 2pm - 4pm - Function Room
Thursday 9th April, 2pm - 4pm - Function Room
Thursday 11th June, 2pm - 4pm - Function Room
Thursday 20th August, 2pm - 4pm - Seminar Room 3
Thursday 15th October, 2pm - 4pm - Seminar Room 1 & 2
Thursday 3rd December, 2pm - 4pm - Seminar Room 1 & 2

Albury / Wodonga

Location

Contact NET Nurse Kate for venue details (local venue varies)

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times - 2020
Tuesday 21st April, 16th June, 18th August, 20th October, November Christmas Break Up (TBC)

Coffs Harbour

 

Location

Shearwater Lodge
Coffs Harbour Health Campus
345 Pacific Highway
Coffs Harbour

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Wednesday 12th February, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 8th April, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 10th June, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 12th August, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 14th October, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 9th December, 1pm - 3pm

Canberra 

 


Location

The Raiders Club,

1 Liardet Street,

Weston, ACT

Contact
NET Nurse 

 T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 

 E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Friday 28th February, 10am-12pm
Friday 20th March, 10am - 12pm
Friday 17th April, 10am - 12pm
Friday 22nd May, 10am - 12pm
Friday 19th June, 10am - 12pm

Next 6 months TBC

Dubbo

Location

Contact NET Nurse Kate for venue details

Time/ Dates 2020 TBC

Saturday 22nd Feb, Saturday 23rd May, Saturday 29th August, Saturday 28th November

Wagga Wagga

Save the date for NET Patient Forum February 13th - details TBC

Victoria

Kew (Melbourne) 

Location
Phyllis Hore Room
Kew Library
Corner Cotham Road and Civic Drive
Kew

Contact
NET Nurse
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Tuesday 11th February, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 14th April, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 9th June, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 18th August, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 20th October, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 8th December, 5.30pm - 7.30pm

Warrnambool

Location

Contact Kate NET Nurse for venue locations

Dates/Times 2020 TBC

Thursday 5th Marc, Tuesday 30th June, Tuesday 15th September, Thursday 13th December

Queensland

Fortitude Valley (Brisbane) 

Location
Cancer Council QLD
Auditorium
553 Gregory Terrace
Fortitude Valley

Contact
NET Nurse 
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Tuesday 4th February, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 7th April, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 2nd June, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 4th August, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 6th October, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 1st December (Christmas Break Up TBC venue)

Gold Coast

Location
Cancer Council QLD
1 Short Street
Southport

Contact
NET Nurse 
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Friday 21st February, 10.00am - 12.00pm
Friday 17th April, 10.00am - 12.00pm
Friday 12th June, 10.00am - 12.00pm

Next 6 months TBC


South Australia

Eastwood (Adelaide) 

Location
Cancer Council Australia
202 Greenhill Road
Eastwood

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)  
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Tuesday 4th February, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 7th April, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 2nd June, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 4th August, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 6th October, 3pm - 5pm
December - Christmas Break Up venue TBC


Tasmania

Southern Tasmanian Neuroendocrine Tumour Support Group 

Location
Cancer Council
15 Princes St
Sandy Bay

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)  
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2020
Tuesday 18th February, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 21st April, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 16th June, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 18th August, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 20th October, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 15th December, 1.30pm - 3.30pm

Western Australia

Murdoch (WA) 

 

Please note this new location:
Meeting Room G7
Education Building
Fiona Stanley Hospital

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au  

Dates/Times 2020
Wednesday 5th February, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 1st April, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 3rd June, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 5th August, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 7th October, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 2nd December, 6pm - 8pm

Further Regional Groups

Telephone Support Groups

Telephone Support Groups are held twice a month (details below). Referrals or direct enquiries can be made by calling 1300 755 632 or by emailing: tsg@nswcc.org.au Name and phone number are required to access this service.

Advanced Cancer TSG
This group is suitable for people with any cancer type that has moved into other organs or areas of the body and is diagnosed as ‘Advanced’, ‘Terminal’ or ‘Metastasised'. For people with NETs, this group may be helpful when their tumours are no longer responding to treatment (as people with 'Advanced' NETs can be stable for many years)

Carers TSG
This group is suitable for the primary carer of someone with cancer. The diagnosis can be of any cancer type and the relationship of the carer to the patient could be partner, spouse, parent or (adult) child.