CLOSE

Dialog Box

Loading...

         

Patient Support Groups

 

The Unicorn Foundation has established patient support groups across Australia, as well as an active Facebook Private Discussion Group and linkages to Cancer Council Telephone Support Groups

Being diagnosed with cancer can be a scary and confronting experience. Being diagnosed with Neuroendocrine or Carcinoid cancer is even more confusing and daunting due to the lack of information and resources readily available. Therefore one of the main aims of the Unicorn Foundation is to provide support to patients by bringing them together in a relaxed yet informative environment.

Find a Support Group 

Click on the relevant state on the map of Australia to locate your closest support group. If you are interested in joining our Facebook group, or would like to assist in organizing or facilitating a patient support group, then please contact us at netnurse@unicornfoundation.org.au.

Click here to find out more about Telephone Support Groups for those with Advanced Cancer and for Carers.

New South Wales and ACT

North Shore Private Hospital 

Location
North Shore Private Hospital
Ground Floor Conference Room
Westbourne Street
St Leonards

Contact
NET Nurse
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times - 2019  (Download NSW RNS flyer here)
Wednesday 13th February, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 10th April, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 12th June, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 7th August, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 9th October, 5pm - 7pm
Wednesday 11th December, 5pm - 7pm

Sydney Adventist Hospital (SAN)


 

Location
Cancer Support Centre
Jacaranda Lodge
SAN -185 Fox Valley Rd, Wahroonga NSW 2076

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2019 (Download NSW SAN flyer here)
Thursday 17th January, 1.30pm - 3pm
Thursday 21st March, 1.30pm - 3pm
Thursday 16th May, 1.30pm - 3pm
Thursday 18th July, 1.30pm - 3pm
Thursday 19th September, 1.30 - 3pm
Thursday 21st November, 1.30 - 3pm

St George Hospital


Location
St George Hospital
Ground Floor
Research and Education Centre
South Street
Kogarah
(just beside the car park)

Contact
NET Nurse 
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times - 2019 TBC (Download St George Group flyer here)
Thursday 7th February, 2pm - 4pm
Thursday 11th April, 2pm - 4pm
Thursday 13th June, 2pm - 4pm
Thursday 8th August, 2pm - 4pm
Thursday 10th October, 2pm - 4pm
Thursday 5th December, 2pm - 4pm

Albury / Wodonga

Location
Wellness Centre
Albury Cancer Hospital
Borella Road
Albury

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times - 2019
Tuesday 19th February, 12pm - 2pm

Coffs Harbour

 

Location

Shearwater Lodge
Coffs Harbour Health Campus
345 Pacific Highway
Coffs Harbour

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2019 (Download Coffs Harbour flyer here)
Wednesday 13th February, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 10th April, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 12th June, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 14th August, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 9th October, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday 11th December, 1pm - 3pm

Canberra 

 


Location

The Raiders Club,

1 Liardet Street,

Weston, ACT


Contact
NET Nurse 

 T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 

 E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au


Dates/Times 2019 (Download ACT flyer here)
Friday 22nd February, 10am-12pm
Friday 22nd March, 10am - 12pm
Friday 26th April, 10am - 12pm
Friday 24th May, 10am - 12pm
Friday 21st June, 10am - 12pm


Victoria

Kew (Melbourne) 

Location
Phyllis Hore Room
Kew Library
Corner Cotham Road and Civic Drive
Kew

Contact
NET Nurse
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2018 (Download VIC flyer here)
Tuesday 12th February, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 23rd April, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 11th June, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 13th August, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 8th October, 5.30pm - 7.30pm
Tuesday 10th December, 5.30pm - 7.30pm

Queensland

Fortitude Valley (Brisbane) 

Location
Cancer Council QLD
Auditorium
553 Gregory Terrace
Fortitude Valley

Contact
NET Nurse 
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2019 (Download Brisbane Flyer here
Tuesday 5th February, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 2nd April, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 4th June, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 6th August, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 1st October, 11am - 2pm
Tuesday 3rd December, 11am - 2pm

Gold Coast

Location
Cancer Council QLD
1 Short Street
Southport

Contact
NET Nurse 
1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363) 
E  
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2019 (Download Gold Coast Flyer Here)
Friday 15th February, 10.00am - 12.00pm
Friday 12th April, 10.00am - 12.00pm
Friday 21st June, 10.00am - 12.00pm
Friday 18th October, 10.00am - 12.00pm
Friday 13th December, 10.00am - 12.00pm


South Australia

Eastwood (Adelaide) 

Location
Cancer Council Australia
202 Greenhill Road
Eastwood

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)  
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2019 (Download SA flyer here)
Tuesday 5th February, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 9th April, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 4th June, 3pm - 5pm, Guest speaker Sarah Wilksch, Cancer Clinical Psychologist
Tuesday 6th August, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 1st October, 3pm - 5pm
Tuesday 3rd December 3pm - 5pm


Tasmania

Southern Tasmanian Neuroendocrine Tumour Support Group 

Location
Cancer Council
15 Princes St
Sandy Bay

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)  
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2019 (Download Hobart flyer here)
Tuesday 19th February, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 16th April, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 18th June, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 20th August, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 15th October, 1.30pm - 3.30pm
Tuesday 17th December, 1.30pm - 3.30pm


The Northern Tasmania NET Support Group 

Location
Launceston Cancer Support Centre (Cancer Council TAS)
69 - 71 Howick Street
Launceston


Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)  
E  NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au

Dates/Times 2019 (Download Launceston Flyer here)
Wednesday 27th March, 1pm - 2.30pm
Wednesday 29th May, 1pm - 2.30pm
Wednesday 26th June, 1pm - 2.30pm
Wednesday 31st July, 1pm - 2.30pm
Wednesday 28th August, 1pm - 2.30pm
Wednesday 25th September, 1pm - 2.30pm
Wednesday 30th October, 1pm - 2.30pm
Wednesday 27th November, 1pm - 2.30pm

Western Australia




Murdoch (WA) 

 

Please note this new location:
Meeting Room G7
Education Building
Fiona Stanley Hospital

Contact
NET Nurse
T 1300 CURE NETS (1300 287 363)
NetNurse@unicornfoundation.org.au  

Dates/Times 2019 (Download WA flyer here)  
Wednesday 6th February, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 3rd April, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 5th June, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 7th August, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 2nd October, 6pm - 8pm
Wednesday 4th December, 6pm - 8pm

Telephone Support Groups

Telephone Support Groups are held twice a month (details below). Referrals or direct enquiries can be made by calling 1300 755 632 or by emailing: tsg@nswcc.org.au Name and phone number are required to access this service.

Advanced Cancer TSG
This group is suitable for people with any cancer type that has moved into other organs or areas of the body and is diagnosed as ‘Advanced’, ‘Terminal’ or ‘Metastasised'. For people with NETs, this group may be helpful when their tumours are no longer responding to treatment (as people with 'Advanced' NETs can be stable for many years)

Carers TSG
This group is suitable for the primary carer of someone with cancer. The diagnosis can be of any cancer type and the relationship of the carer to the patient could be partner, spouse, parent or (adult) child.